When the World Denies the Resurrection . . . of Israel

Anti-Zionism is anti-Semitism. Anti-Zionism is saying, “I’m fine with Jews . . . as long as they’re under somebody’s boot.”

Star_of_David.svgWhen this blog first started out, I would often comment on the news of the day. I’ve not done so as much recently due to not having the time and wanting to focus on my strong suit, which is in the area of theology and history. And for the most part, I intend to keep going with that route.

Having said that, there are times when we simply must weigh in on the side of truth against the falsehoods of the world. We live in a time when the powers of the world are gathering to try to destroy Israel through lies and hypocrisy. The whole Middle-east is awash in the blood of Christians experiencing their own Shoah (Holocaust) and the world is silent, but let Israel lift a hand to defend its citizens against unprovoked attacks, and that same world screams bloody murder. I could spend several posts chronicling specific examples, but for readers of this blog, there’s no need. You know the truth.

All of this, of course, was prophesied in advance:

Behold, I will make Jerusalem a cup of reeling to all the surrounding peoples, and on Judah also will it be in the siege against Jerusalem. It will happen in that day, that I will make Jerusalem a burdensome stone for all the peoples. All who burden themselves with it will be severely wounded, and all the nations of the earth will be gathered together against it. (Zec. 12:2-3)

God, don’t keep silent.
Don’t keep silent,
and don’t be still, God.

For, behold, your enemies are stirred up.
Those who hate you have lifted up their heads.

They conspire with cunning against your people.
They plot against your cherished ones.

“Come,” they say, “and let’s destroy them as a nation,
that the name of Israel may be remembered no more.” (Psa. 83:1-4)

Proclaim this among the nations:
“Prepare for war!
Stir up the mighty men.
Let all the warriors draw near.
Let them come up.
Beat your plowshares into swords,
and your pruning hooks into spears.
Let the weak say, ‘I am strong.’

Hurry and come, all you surrounding nations,
and gather yourselves together.”
Cause your mighty ones to come down there, LORD.

“Let the nations arouse themselves,
and come up to the valley of Jehoshaphat;
for there will I sit to judge all the surrounding nations. (Joel 3:9-12)

There are many Christians out there today who have decided to join the nations against Israel. I’ve seen Zionism attached to Illuminati plots. I’ve heard claims that America should just abandon Israel so that they’ll convert to Christ out of desperation. Christians who say not one word about the sufferings of their brethren at the hands of the Muslims are quick to find any tiny incident of persecution against Christians in Israel–never mind the fact that the “Christians” in those cases are Jews themselves who have nothing but love for their people and their country!

And all of those claims ultimately stem from a single poison tree: Replacement theology, in one form or another, under one name or another. It’s the bitter heresy that denies that the Jews are still God’s chosen people, that Israel is still God’s son, even his firstborn (Exo. 4:22). It is the heresy that attacks not only those Jews who have not believed in Yeshua, but even more so those who have.

I call it a heresy because those who hold to it always slide into a particular hypocrisy: They mock the Jewish authorities for not recognizing the resurrection of one man because it didn’t fit their particular theology, while the Supracessionists themselves refuse to recognize the resurrection of an entire nation–one that has happened before their very eyes–because it doesn’t fit with their particular theology!

Shoah PitAnd the return of the Jews to the Land is indeed a resurrection, at least if one believes the words of Scripture:

The hand of the LORD was on me, and he brought me out in the Spirit of the LORD, and set me down in the midst of the valley; and it was full of bones. He caused me to pass by them all around: and behold, there were very many in the open valley; and behold, they were very dry.

He said to me, Son of man, can these bones live? I answered, Lord GOD, you know. Again he said to me, Prophesy over these bones, and tell them, you dry bones, hear the word of the LORD. Thus says the Lord GOD to these bones: Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and you shall live. I will lay sinews on you, and will bring up flesh on you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and you shall live; and you shall know that I am the LORD.

So I prophesied as I was commanded: and as I prophesied, there was a noise, and behold, an earthquake; and the bones came together, bone to its bone. I saw, and, behold, there were sinews on them, and flesh came up, and skin covered them above; but there was no breath in them.

Then he said to me, Prophesy to the wind, prophesy, son of man, and tell the wind, Thus says the Lord GOD: Come from the four winds, breath, and breathe on these slain, that they may live. So I prophesied as he commanded me, and the breath came into them, and they lived, and stood up on their feet, an exceedingly great army.

Then he said to me, Son of man, these bones are the whole house of Israel: behold, they say, Our bones are dried up, and our hope is lost; we are clean cut off. Therefore prophesy, and tell them, Thus says the Lord GOD: Behold, I will open your graves, and cause you to come up out of your graves, my people; and I will bring you into Eretz-Israel. You shall know that I am the LORD, when I have opened your graves, and caused you to come up out of your graves, my people. I will put my Spirit in you, and you shall live, and I will place you in your own land: and you shall know that I, the LORD, have spoken it and performed it, says the LORD. (Eze. 37:1-14)

Isaiah prophesied some 2700 years ago,

It will happen in that day that the nations will seek the Root of Jesse (the Messiah, vv. 1-5), who stands as a banner of the peoples (i.e., the Gentiles); and his resting place will be glorious. It will happen in that day that the Lord will set his hand again the second time to recover the remnant that is left of his people from Assyria, from Egypt, from Pathros, from Cush, from Elam, from Shinar, from Hamath, and from the islands of the sea. He will set up a banner for the nations (Messiah, again), and will assemble the outcasts of Israel, and gather together the dispersed of Judah from the four corners of the earth. (10:10-12)

We are now living in that day when the Messiah stands as a banner (a rallying-point, the place of the King) for the nations and God has reached out his hand the second time to draw Israel back to the land (the first time being the return from the Babylonian exile).

There has never been a time in which so many prophecies are coming to pass all at once, and they all involve Israel. Israel is the proof that the God of the Bible is indeed the Eternal Creator–and that is why the world instinctively hates her. That is why atheistic homosexuals join in common cause with Islamist militants: Israel’s existence, after thousands of years, is proof that the Living God rules over history, and that his judgment against all the nations is coming soon.

messianic_symbolWhy then do so many Christians also deny the miracle of God?

Shalom

One Reply to “When the World Denies the Resurrection . . . of Israel”

  1. I am a believer in Messiah like the disciples who walked, talked, knew the Hebrew way of life. Our Messiah being the slain lamb for our sins, Passover Ikneomai “I came” was wrapped in Linen, desired achdat -unity, walked about 40 days, arose to Heaven, 10 days Shavout over 3,000 we are no longer jews/gentiles we are Echad – one. Yes, I’ve read many books, listened to speakers, recently read booklet and DVD by Derek Frank “Let The Lion Roar”. I have a Hebrew neighbor who received much ridicule bullying as he grew up in a Chasidic community. He later became a believer in Messiah. We talk. In March 2005 is when I came into what is called the Torah utilizing the Elder and Younger Testaments. A change from regular C denominations who neglect to recognized the true scripture calender, Festivals, scrip guidelines for daily living and diet selections. The Ten Commandments are vital, I believe I may be from the tribe of Benjamin, my lineage is from Sweden thru diasporia to USA. Thank you for Emet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

