Keeping Busy, Just Not on the Blog

Yeah, about that last post . . . apparently the answer was no.

That’s not to say that I’ve been completely slack. I had the usual project of running the morning service at Beth HaMashiach (streaming available here for those interested). We merged the two services last month, which is why my teachings abruptly drop off. I hope to get around to finishing the Proverbs series sometime soon on YouTube or another source, though.

I’ve since taken over the synagogue’s Bar Mitzvah classes. New classes start up on April 6 in order to give me time to get a curriculum in order.

This picture tells you pretty much everything you need to know about what kind of host Iron Johnny is.

In the meantime, I’ve accepted an invite by Johnny McMahon to guest-star on The Iron Show with Matthew Miller of The Endtime Tribune, where we’re working our way verse-by-verse through the book of Esther. It’s a really awesome opportunity; Matthew is one of those rare individuals who loves the yods and tittles of Scripture to a degree that the rabbis themselves would respect, and not a show goes by that doesn’t see me furiously scribbling notes from something Matthew has shown me. We’re still feeling each other out, and I can tell already that we’ve got some very different perspectives on some issues, but I think those will just make the show more interesting in the long run. Iron sharpens iron, after all.

I’ve also been working on a new book. No, sadly not When the Stars Fall, Volume 2. This other book, tentatively titled Reforging the Menorah, actually developed when I looked at my notes from Revelation 11 and 17, then looked back over chapters 1-3 and a couple of the “interlude” chapters, and realized that I had a subject that really needed its own book to develop properly. After much prayer, I shifted gears.

I’m actually writing the book as a series of papers and articles which are designed to stand on their own, which can then be collected together in such a way as to build on one another in one volume. I’ll be posting some of those articles on this blog shortly.

Hopefully soon to be re-released.
Hopefully soon to be re-released.

Speaking of books, you’ll notice that the bookstore link is down. That’s because I’m out of my stock of hard copies of WtSF. I’m looking at Lulu as an alternative way of publishing the book as “print on demand” and to disseminate pdfs. If anyone reading this has any experience with Lulu that they’d be willing to share, I’d greatly appreciate it.

And finally, as you can see, I’ve done a bit of redesign of the blog. When I came up with the original design, I wanted something a bit on the moody side, but with the world itself becoming so dark and with some changes in the emphasis on this blog, I thought it time for a change–mainly, to something that’s easier on the eyes and (hopefully, if the theme lives up to its promise) works better for those reading this on mobile devices.

Right after posting this, I’ll be setting up some other posts to upload automatically, so hopefully I’ll have a nice, steady stream of articles going again.

Shalom

Leave a Reply

