Am I back or not?

Okay, okay, I’m a lousy blogger.  Hashem knows I get ticked off when the blogs and podcasts stop updating regularly (Derek and Sharon, I’m looking at you!), so you’d think I’d be better about it, but no.  I don’t just miss a few posts now and then, I go completely off the radar for half a year.

To be fair, though, it’s not my fault.  It’s his:

“I swear, coppers! The baby made me do it!”

Yes, Sara and I have been busy on our latest joint project, for those of you who don’t already know from following one of our Facebook accounts:  Building a human being from scratch.

And dang, we did good.  The kid’s already eighteen pounds and only four months old.  We’re already putting him in clothes designed for one-year-olds.  He’s like in the 98th percentile size-wise, and already eager to crawl and walk.

This is, of course, not our first child, though he is my first baby.  I got a daughter as a bonus to the marriage.  She’s ten now, already mothering her little brother, and generally being an incredible help to us.  Thanks, Leah!  I love you.

So yeah, between a new baby and an unexpected move, I’ve been just a tad busy.  I’ve also been doing a lot of research for an upcoming project which has eaten up my spare time.  More on that later.  For now, I’ll just say that in one area, some threads that I’ve been studying for a long time have come together in a most wonderful way, while in another couple of areas, I’ve had to make some major shifts in my eschatology.  Not on premillennialism or prewrath, mind, but in some areas which will greatly impact the writing of part 2 of When the Stars Fall.  I’m actually very glad that I did not finish it when I intended to, since now I can include the new material.

I have not been completely absent from teaching, though I did take a few weeks off.  Those who are interested can find my synagogue teachings on Revelation and now the latter chapters of Daniel (Rabbi Gavri’el did the first six chapters while I was dealing with the move) in their usual place on Cyber-Synagogue.

The world, of course, hasn’t exactly kept still in my absence from the web.  I could go on at length, but I’ve found some Youtube videos that sum up the wierdness of the last six months far more succinctly than I could manage:

I can’t vouch for the rest of this gentleman’s channel because, well, I haven’t had the time to really go through it yet.  But he does do a darn fine job of showing just how much is going on using regular news sources, so at the very least, those videos are worth a gander.

Another thing I’ve become fascinated by of late is the phenomenon of strange sounds being heard all over the world, as illustrated by this vid:

Is it just me, or do some of those sounds come across as giant, duper-deep horns?  Specifically, shofars.

I don’t know exactly what’s causing the sounds, and certainly at least some of the sounds are hoaxes, but I have to admit that I am fascinated by the possibility that the ancients heard these sounds and recorded the event in, among other places, the Bible.  More on that another later.

Yes, I’m teasing.  Sorry about that.

So yes, random post, less Messianic than just weird and prophetic, but hopefully just the first of many more now that we’re settled in our new place and the kid is starting to keep some semblance of a schedule.  I appreciate the patience, and hopefully I’ll have more than a teaser soon.  In the meantime, I wish everyone a happy Independence Day!

Shalom!

3 thoughts on “Am I back or not?

  1. Hi Rabbi Mike, glad to see you back too. I wrote Rabbi Gavri’el about a sign in the sky, actually the passing of Venus in front of the sun about a month ago. I thought it was strange that it occured on the anniversary of the birth and death of Yehuda. What I found more ironic is the reference in Isaiah to Venus being compared with Hallel ben Shachar. Any thoughts on this?

    Like

  2. If a picture is worth a thousand words this one definitely proves that fact! And yes, you definitely have a very valid excuse; when that baby is around, he is just so-ooo cute, you can’t help but stop everything and play with him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

