Strength in Faith

IDF soldiers of the religious battalion of Nah...
If you've ever wondered what King David's soldiers looked like, here you go.

I came across the following post today from Moshe Kempinski, a Jewish scholar and store-owner in Jerusalem who I had the pleasure of meeting a few years ago.

[I]t was especially uplifting to see the group of Hesder Yeshiva students being conscripted into army service this week. There was a clear sense by all who were there that these young boys were imbued with ” a different spirit” , a spirit like that of Calev of biblical days. We read how Moshe sends twelve spies to scout the land and ten of them advise against attack because the Caananites are too powerful. Calev shouts above the others: “Let us by all means go up, ki yachol nuchal lah (“for we shall surely overcome it”)(Numbers 13:30)The others though had lost the power to contend with their enemies and declare””We looked like grasshoppers to ourselves, and so we must have looked to them.” (Numbers 13:33) .These young people at the induction center, like Calev , were clearly imbued with that “different spirit / that Ruach Acheret .

It is that spirit that the people of Israel are yearning for so earnestly. Recent studies have shown a dramatic increase in the number of Hesder Yeshiva students taking over commander positions. Yet a recent poll conducted by the Begin-Sadat Center for Strategic Studies indicated that a large majority of the Israeli public is not at all concerned with the growing number of IDF commanders and officers who stem from the national-religious camp. Over 79 percent of the respondents said they were not “concerned at all” with this phenomenon , in contrast to 1 percent who said they were very concerned.

via The strength of a Jewish Army | Shorashim Biblical Shop.

It’s interesting that during a period of time when most Western nations seem to be losing their faith, Israel is going in precisely the other direction.  Why is that?  One possible reason is the witness of the incredible victories Israel has won in the last two generations, showing the Hand of God protecting them, which we mentioned in this post.  Another complimentary reason may be found in Ezekiel 37:7-12:

So I prophesied as I was commanded: and as I prophesied, there was a noise, and behold, an earthquake; and the bones came together, bone to its bone.   I saw, and, behold, there were sinews on them, and flesh came up, and skin covered them above; but there was no breath in them.  Then he said to me, Prophesy to the wind, prophesy, son of man, and tell the wind, Thus says the Lord GOD: Come from the four winds, breath, and breathe on these slain, that they may live.  So I prophesied as he commanded me, and the breath came into them, and they lived, and stood up on their feet, an exceedingly great army.

Then he said to me, Son of man, these bones are the whole house of Israel: behold, they say, Our bones are dried up, and our hope is lost; we are clean cut off.   Therefore prophesy, and tell them, Thus says the Lord GOD: Behold, I will open your graves, and cause you to come up out of your graves, my people; and I will bring you into Eretz-Israel.

The dry bones rise up out of the graves of the Holocaust and are brought into the Land.  From there they are fleshed out until at last, the Spirit enters into them.  I think we are seeing the fleshing out in preparation for the return of the Spirit in its full prophetic sense to Israel.  And if that’s true, we truly are on the cusp of the Return of the King.

Shalom

One Reply to “Strength in Faith”

  1. After reading this article, I sent the following to dear friends in Israel. I am not Jewish and can not make Aliyah so from the USA, I do what I am lead to do. I’d like more of my mishpacha to know how I feel, so here it is:

    Shalom my Mishpacha,
    I know the last months have been difficult for you and all of Israel. It is difficult also for us in the diaspora. We pray, we feel the pain, we cry out to Avinu for his mercy, protection and shalom over Jerusalem and all of Israel. We know that our prayers are heard, and yet, we feel helpless being so far away. Given half a chance I’d be there defending my people and my boarders, but it is not the time says Avinu, so I continue to pray and cry. I have not written before because I did not have the words, I still don’t have the words. But I do have faith. I do believe that אלוהימ הוא טוב (Elohim is good) and that all He does is טוב (good). His prophecies are being fulfilled and the King is coming.

    This article gave me the inspiration to write and tell you my heart is with you and like Calev, I know the Promise land is ours and Elohim is victorious.
    https://returnofbenjamin.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/strength-in-faith/

    I am grateful for the courage you have as you continue to stand in the gap for all those who don’t yet know their Machiach. You are in my heart and in my prayers.

    Shalom,
    Malka bat Dan
    Bride of Yeshua, Defender of Israel’s Frontier

    The Sovereign LORD has opened my ears, and I have not been rebellious; I have not drawn back. Isaiah 50:5

    Like

Leave a Reply

